Tags

, , , , ,

I’m sure the title drew you in.  Wondering what fool would paint their home circus tent yellow.  I can assure you that it was not on purpose.  It was just one of those “happy accidents”.

I am a huge fan of paint.  When it comes to home decorating, paint can cover a multitude of sins, create drama, and in the case of those happy accidents, lead you down a path you might not have travelled.  Paint comes in many guises (interior, outdoor, craft, metallic, etc.) and is fairly inexpensive, but its a huge part of your decorating arsenal.  You can crackle paint, gloss it, sponge it, spray it, and more.

But let us get back to the story at hand.  I knew I wanted yellow for my living room walls because I was aiming for that New Orleans/French style of decorating.  I had everything prepped, the furniture covered, a few days off from work, and thinking I could combine a trip to the eye doctor with picking up the paint, I headed out.

Never.  Ever.  Pick out your paint after you have had your eyes dilated for an eye exam.  Trust me.

I picked out my yellow, had it mixed, carted it home, and proceeded to paint.  Went to bed excited to get the room put together the next morning. Well, you can imagine how it went down.  I was horrified.  It looked soft, buttery, and warm with a hint of lemon in the store.  What I had on my walls could only be described as circus tent yellow.  This was NOT the color I had picked out.  I took the paint chip out in the sun to see it again.  Big sigh.  Yes.  I HAD picked this color.  But because my eyes were dilated, the color did not transmit well from my eyes to my brain when I was picking out the color in the store.    So, what to do to fix it?  I had white paint and clear glaze medium on hand, so I mixed the two and sponged and ragged it onto the wall.   Lucky for me that did the trick and I got the perfect soft French yellow that I was aiming for.

Oh, that “stain” in the corner of the picture?  That’s some copper glazing sponged on to create a faint water stain.  More of that New Orleans/French effect.  Its very obvious in the picture but it does not stand out as vividly in the room itself.  Apparently very realistic too.  I’ve gotten a few comments from plumbers over the years.

Throughout this post I have included pictures of other painted walls and items that I thought would be of interest.  For a roughly plastered wall, I used painters tape to mask off the squares and then sponged on different jewel toned, glitter, and metallic acrylic craft paints until I reached an effect that pleased me.

The chandelier was inexpensive and had a plain brushed silver tone.  I used metal paints to create the Old World French effect.  The decorative ceiling medallion is the frame of an old Homco clock, painted and gilded using plastic paints and a 24kt gold paint marker, and then mounted above the chandelier.

Would you believe the picture frame is plastic?  Its been reworked with a combination of plastic and metallic paints, and the details are picked out in silver and gold paint pens.

The crackle doors are part of a set of bookcases that I simply coated with crackle medium and then rolled on white trim paint.  The handles are painted with gold metallic paint.  What was a set of cheap bookcases that had seen better days is now a fun, primitive and old-world looking set of bookcases that I use to display special book collections and knick knacks.

Why not try something new with paint in your own home?  Paint is not that expensive, and you can simply start again if you don’t like how it turned out!

Clicking on any of the pictures in this post will take you directly to my online store where you can find alternative fine art prints and more to adorn you and your home.

